

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SINAI HEALTH SYSTEM ("SHS") Tuesday, June 20, 2017 Park Hyatt Hotel, 4 Avenue Road, Toronto 11:45 – 11:50 a.m.

Minutes

Present:

Mr. Brent Belzberg, Chair Ms. Paula Blackstien-Hirsch Mr. Jonathan Bloomberg Mr. Harry Culham Mr. Ira Gluskin Mr. Jay S. Hennick Mr. Andrew Hoffman Ms. Debbie Kimel Mr. Joseph Lebovic Mr. Richard Pilosof Mr. Stephen Pustil Mr. Joel Reitman Mr. Philip Reichmann Ms. Joanna Rotenberg Mr. Robert Rubinoff Mr. Kenneth Tanenbaum Mr. Charles Winograd

Via Teleconference:

Mr. Bernard Ghert

Regrets:

Mr. Peter Cohen Mr. David Cynamon Mr. Tom Kornya Ms. Heather Reisman Mr. Mark Saunders

Also Present:

Ms. Susan Brown Mr. Gerry Dimnik Mr. Stephen Goldsmith Ms. Lisha Hibbins Dr. Rita Kandel Dr. Tony Khouri Ms. Carey Lucki Ms. Barbara McCully Ms. Honey Sherman Mr. Harry Sokolowski Mr. Edward Sonshine The Rt. Hon John Turner Mr. Mark Wiseman

Ms. Jane Merkley Mr. Allan Rudolph Mr. Jason Rutland Dr. Maureen Shandling Ms. Joan Sproul Mr. Marc Toppings Ms. Jordana Warner Dr. Trevor Young

Recorder: Ms. Aleks Metropolit

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Marc Toppings, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, called the meeting to order.

1.1 Quorum

Mr. Toppings noted that a quorum was present and the meeting was duly constituted.

1.2 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest Arising from the Agenda

No Declarations of Conflicts of Interest were made.

1.3 Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated.

2.0 MATTERS REQUIRING DECISION

2.1 Appointment of Officers of SHS

The following motion was presented and approved by the Directors:

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law No. 2 of SHS, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the corporation that the following action be taken by the Directors of the corporation;

Be it resolved that the Directors of SHS hereby consent to, approve and adopt the following:

Be it resolved that, effective as of the date hereof, the following individuals, being the only persons nominated for such positions, be and they hereby are appointed officers of SHS for a term of one (1) year or until his or her successor is appointed subject to the provisions of the corporation's By-Law No. 2:

- Mr. Brent Belzberg, Chair
- Mr. Gerald Schwartz, Vice Chair
- Mr. Lawrence Tanenbaum, Vice Chair
- Mr. Peter Cohen, Treasurer
- Dr. Gary Newton, President and Secretary
- 2.2 Appointment of SHS Co-Chairs and Members of Committees

The following motion was presented and approved by the Directors:

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law No. 2 of SHS, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following actions be taken by the Directors of SHS;

Be it resolved that the Directors of SHS appoint the Chairs and/or Co-Chairs for the following Committees, with Committee and Sub-Committee membership to be finalized by the Committee Chairs and Chair of the Governance Committee.

Audit and Risk Management Committee

Co-Chairs: Bernard Ghert Tom Kornya

Governance Committee

Chair: Brent Belzberg

Government Relations Committee

Chair: Brent Belzberg

Patient Safety and Quality Committee

Chair: Paula Blackstien-Hirsch

Operational Effectiveness and Technology Sub-Committee Chair: Joanna Rotenberg

Research Committee Co-Chairs: Lawrence Tanenbaum Thomas Kierans

Resources Committee Co-Chairs: Peter Cohen

Mark Saunders

Buildings and Property Sub-Committee Chair: Peter Cohen

Business Development Sub-Committee Co-Chairs: Stephen Pustil Thomas Schwartz

Investment Sub-Committee Chair: Charles Winograd

2.3 Appointment of Members of Professional Staff

The following motion was presented and approved by the Directors:

Whereas, pursuant to SHS's Professional Staff By-law No. 2 ("Bylaw No. 2") it is required that the Directors appoint a Chair and Vice-Chair respectively of the Medical Advisory Committee ("MAC");

And whereas, pursuant to SHS's Bylaw No. 2 it is contemplated that the Directors may appoint two members of the Medical Staff to the MAC to ensure that there are representatives to adequately represent the SHS sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services;

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of SHS appoints the following Medical Advisory Committee Chair and Vice-Chair:

- Chair of the MAC
 - o Dr. Ian Witterick, Otolaryngology
- Vice-Chair of the MAC

o Dr. Jay Wunder, Surgeon-in-Chief

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of SHS appoints the following two members of the Medical Staff to MAC to adequately represent the SHS sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services:

- Dr. John Goldsand
- Dr. Mark Lachmann
- 2.4 Approval of Directors Bridgepoint Family Health Team

The following motion was presented and approved by the Directors:

Whereas the Directors of SHS and BH, as Class B Members of Bridgepoint Family Health Team, elect two persons annually to serve as Directors of Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

And whereas Dr. Mark Lachmann, Physician Lead, Bridgepoint Site of Sinai Health System, and Jason Rutland, Vice-President, Finance and Support Services, have agreed to have their names stand as Class B members of the Board of Directors of the Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of SHS approves the nominations as noted above.

3.0 OTHER BUSINESS

No other business was brought forward.

4.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 1;48 a.m.

Brent Belzberg Chair of the Board

Dr. Gary Newton Secretary of the Board