

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING SINAI HEALTH SYSTEM (**"SHS")** Thursday, June 14, 2018 Four Seasons Hotel, 60 Yorkville Ave, Toronto 11:40 a.m. – 11:50 a.m.

Minutes

Present:

Mr. Brent Belzberg Mr. Bernard Ghert Mr. Ira Gluskin Mr. Andrew Hoffman Ms. Debbie Kimel Mr. Tom Kornya Mr. Joseph Lebovic Ms. Jane Merkley Dr. Gary Newton Mr. Joel Reitman Ms. Joanna Rotenberg Mr. Robert Rubinoff Mr. Allan Rudolph Mr. Mark Saunders Mr. Edward Sonshine The Rt. Hon John Turner Mr. Charles Winograd* Dr. Ian Witterick

Regrets:

Ms. Paula Blackstien-Hirsch Mr. Jonathan Bloomberg Mr. Lawrence Bloomberg Mr. Peter Cohen Mr. Harry Culham Mr. David Cynamon Mr. Lloyd Fogler Mr. Irving Gerstein Mr. Jay S. Hennick Mr. Philip Reichmann

Also Present:

Ms. Sandra Dietrich Mr. Gerry Dimnik Ms. Melanie de Wit Mr. Michael Hollend Dr. Tony Khouri Mr. Raymond Lam Ms. Barbara McCully

Guests:

Ms. Cathy Russell

Recorder: Ms. Aleks Metropolit

Ms. Heather Reisman Mr. Gerald Schwartz Mr. Howard Sokolowski Mr. Kenneth Tanenbaum Mr. Lawrence Tanenbaum Dr. Mirek Otremba Mr. Richard Pilosof Mr. Stephen Pustil Mr. Mark Wiseman Dr. Trevor Young

Ms. Karen Michell Ms. Dee Perera Ms. Therese Sauriol Dr. Maureen Shandling Mr. Marc Toppings Dr. Jim Woodgett

*via Teleconference

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Marc Toppings, Vice President, Legal & Corporate Governance and Chief Legal Officer, called the meeting to order.

1.1 Quorum

Mr. Toppings noted that a quorum was present and the meeting was duly constituted.

1.2 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest Arising from the Agenda

No Declarations of Conflicts of Interest were made.

1.3 Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated.

2.0 CONSENT AGEDA ITEMS

2.1 Previous Minutes

The previous meeting minutes of the joint AGM on June 20, 2017 were pre-circulated. The following resolution was put forward and approved:

Whereas the Members of SHS have reviewed the meeting minutes from the joint AGM on June 20, 2017;

Be it resolved that the Members of SHS approve the meeting minutes of the Members as listed and as circulated.

3.0 REPORTS

3.1 The Chair of the Board report was deferred to the luncheon for oral presentation.

3.2 The President and CEO report was deferred to the luncheon for oral presentation.

4.0 APPROVALS

4.1 Approval Special Resolution to Amend the Administrative By-Laws of SHS

Whereas, pursuant to the Corporation's By-Law Number 2, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following action be taken by the Members of the Corporation;

And Whereas the Directors of the Corporation have approved such action and recommend that the Members of the Corporation approve same;

Now therefore be it resolved that the Members of SHS approve and adopt the revised by-law of the Corporation as presented, being By-Law Number 3.

5.0 RECEIPT OF FINANCIAL STATEMENTS & MATTERS REQUIRING DECISION

5.1 Receipt of Audited Financial Statements

Year-End Financial Results and Audit Findings in respect of SHS were received by the Members of the Corporation.

5.2 Appointment of Auditors for 2018-19

Whereas the Board of Directors of SHS recommended that the Members of the Corporation appoint PwC LLP as auditors for SHS for the year ending March 31, 2019;

Be it resolved that the Members of SHS accept the recommendation of the Board of Directors and appoint PwC LLP as auditors for SHS for the year ending March 31, 2019, at a fee to be determined by the Board of Directors.

5.3 Confirmation and Election of Directors of SHS

Whereas, pursuant to SHS's By-Law No. 3, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following actions be taken by the Members of the Corporation;

Now, therefore, be it resolved that the Members of SHS hereby consent to, approve and adopt the following:

1. Election of Directors

Be it resolved that, effective as of the date hereof, the following individuals, being the only persons nominated for such positions, be and they hereby are elected to the Board of Directors of SHS for a term of one (1), two (2) or three (3) years until his or her successor is elected subject to the provisions of the Corporation's By-Law No. 3:

1-	1 Brent Belzberg	
Year	2. Paula Blackstien-Hirsch	
	3. Jonathan Bloomberg	
	4. Peter Cohen	
	5. Harry Culham	
	6. David Cynamon	
	7. Ira Gluskin	
	8. Andrew Hoffman	
2-	9. Debbie Kimel	
Year	10. Tom Kornya	
	11. Joseph Lebovic	
	12. Richard Pilosof	
	13. Stephen M. Pustil	
	14. Philip Reichmann	
	15. Heather M. Reisman	
	16. Joel Reitman	
3-	17. Joanna Rotenberg	
Year	18. Robert A. Rubinoff	
	19. Mark S. Saunders	
	20. Howard Sokolowski	
	21. Edward Sonshine	

ć

 22. Kenneth Tanenbaum	
23. Charles M. Winograd	
24. Mark D. Wiseman	

The following are ex-officio voting Directors of Sinai Health System

The President of the University of	Dr. L. Trevor Young
Toronto or designate	
The Chair of the Board of Circle of	Allan Rudolph
Care Home Care Services (Toronto)	
SHS Immediate Past Chair	Jay S. Hennick

The following are ex-officio non-voting Directors of Sinai Health System

Chief Executive Officer	Dr. Gary Newton
Chair of the Medical Advisory Committee	Dr. Ian Witterick
President of the Professional Staff Association	Dr. Erin Bearss
Chief Nursing Executive and Chief Operating Officer	Jane Merkley

2. Appointment of SHS Director Emeriti

Whereas, pursuant to the SHS's By-Law No. 3, there may be *ex-officio* non-voting Director(s) Emeriti appointed to the Board;

Be it resolved that, effective as of the date hereof, the Members of SHS appoint the following individuals for a term of one (1) year or until his or her successor is appointed subject to the provisions of the Corporation's By-Law No. 3:

- Lawrence S. Bloomberg, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- Lloyd Fogler, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- The Hon. Irving R. Gerstein, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- Bernard I. Ghert, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- Gerald Schwartz, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- Lawrence Tanenbaum, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- Rt. Hon. John N. Turner, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus

6.0 OTHER BUSINESS

No other business was brought forward.

7.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:45 a.m.

Dr. Gary Newton Secretary of the Board

Brent Belzberg Chair of the Board