

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SINAI HEALTH SYSTEM ("SHS") Thursday, June 14, 2018 Four Seasons Hotel, 60 Yorkville Ave, Toronto 11:45 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Minutes

Present:

Mr. Brent Belzberg Mr. Bernard Ghert Mr. Ira Gluskin Mr. Andrew Hoffman Ms. Debbie Kimel Mr. Tom Kornya Mr. Joseph Lebovic Ms. Jane Merkley Dr. Gary Newton Mr. Joel Reitman

Mr. Robert Rubinoff Mr. Allan Rudolph Mr. Mark Saunders Mr. Edward Sonshine The Rt. Hon John Turner Mr. Charles Winograd* Dr. Ian Witterick

Ms. Joanna Rotenberg

Regrets:

Ms. Paula Blackstien-Hirsch Mr. Jonathan Bloomberg Mr. Lawrence Bloomberg Mr. Peter Cohen Mr. Harry Culham Mr. David Cynamon Mr. Lloyd S.D. Fogler, QC Mr. Irving Gerstein Mr. Jay S. Hennick Mr. Philip Reichmann

Also Present:

Ms. Sandra Dietrich Mr. Gerry Dimnik Ms. Melanie de Wit Mr. Michael Hollend Dr. Tony Khouri Mr. Raymond Lam Ms. Barbara McCully

Guests:

Ms. Cathy Russell

Recorder: Ms. Aleks Metropolit

Ms. Heather Reisman Mr. Gerald Schwartz Mr. Howard Sokolowski Mr. Kenneth Tanenbaum Mr. Lawrence Tanenbaum Dr. Mirek Otremba Mr. Richard Pilosof Mr. Stephen Pustil Mr. Mark Wiseman Dr. Trevor Young

Ms. Karen Michell Ms. Dee Perera Ms. Therese Sauriol Dr. Maureen Shandling Mr. Marc Toppings Dr. Jim Woodgett

*via Teleconference

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Marc Toppings, Vice President, Legal & Corporate Governance and Chief Legal Officer, called the meeting to order.

1.1 Quorum

Mr. Toppings noted that a quorum was present and the meeting was duly constituted.

1.2 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest Arising from the Agenda

No Declarations of Conflicts of Interest were made.

1.3 Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated.

2.0 MATTERS REQUIRING DECISION

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law No. 3 of SHS, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following action be taken by the Directors of the Corporation as recommended by the Governance Committee of the Board;

- Be it resolved that the Directors of SHS hereby consent to, approve and adopt the following appointment:
- 2.1 Appointment of Officers SHS

Be it resolved that, effective as of the date hereof, the following individuals, being the only persons nominated for such positions, be and they hereby are appointed officers of SHS for a term of one (1) year or until his or her successor is appointed, subject to the provisions of the Corporation's By-Law No. 3:

- Mr. Brent Belzberg, Chair
- Mr. Gerald Schwartz, Vice Chair
- Mr. Lawrence Tanenbaum, Vice Chair
- Mr. Peter Cohen, Treasurer
- Dr. Gary Newton, Chief Executive Officer and Secretary

2.2 Appointment of Committee Co-Chairs

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law No. 3 of SHS, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following actions be taken by the Directors of the Corporation;

Be it resolved that the Directors of SHS appoint the Chairs and/or Co-Chairs for the following Committees, with Committee and Sub-Committee membership to be finalized by the Committee Chairs and Chair of the Governance Committee.

Academic Leadership Committee (SHS) Chair: Brent Belzberg

2

Audit and Risk Management Committee (SHS and BH)

Co-Chairs: Bernard Ghert Tom Kornya

Governance Committee (SHS) Chair: Brent Belzberg

Human Resources Committee (SHS) Chair: Brent Belzberg

Patient Safety and Quality Committee (SHS) Chair: Paula Blackstien-Hirsch

> Operational Effectiveness and Technology Sub-Committee (SHS) Chair: Joanna Rotenberg

Research Committee (SHS)

Co-Chairs: Lawrence Tanenbaum Thomas Kierans

Resources Committee (SHS and BH)

Co-Chairs: Peter Cohen Mark Saunders

> Buildings and Property Sub-Committee (SHS) Chair: Peter Cohen

> Business Development Sub-Committee (SHS) Co-Chairs: Stephen Pustil Michael Hollend

Development Sub-Committee (SHS) Chair: Andrew Hoffman

Investment Sub-Committee (SHS) Chair: Charles Winograd

Strategy and External Relations Committee (SHS) Chair: Brent Belzberg

2.3 Appointment of Members of Professional Staff

Whereas, pursuant to SHS's Professional Staff By-law No. 2 ("Bylaw No. 2") it is required that the Directors appoint a Chair and Vice-Chair respectively of the Medical Advisory Committee ("MAC");

And whereas, pursuant to SHS's Bylaw No. 2 it is contemplated that the Directors may appoint two members of the Medical Staff to the MAC to ensure that there are representatives to adequately represent the SHS sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services;

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of SHS appoints the following Medical Advisory Committee Chair and Vice-Chair:

- Chair of the MAC
 - o Dr. Ian Witterick; Otolaryngology
- Vice-Chair of the MAC
 - o Dr. Jay Wunder, Surgeon-in-Chief

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of SHS appoints the following two members of the Medical Staff to the MAC to adequately represent the SHS sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services:

- Dr. Christine Soong
- Dr. Mark Lachmann

2.4 Approval of Directors of Bridgepoint Family Health Team

Whereas the Directors of SHS, as Class B Members of Bridgepoint Family Health Team, elect two persons annually to serve as Directors of Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

And whereas Dr. Mark Lachmann, Physician Lead, Bridgepoint Site of Sinai Health System, and Sandra Dietrich, Vice-President, Performance, have agreed to have their names stand as Class B members of the Board of Directors of the Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of SHS approves the nominations as noted above.

3.0 OTHER BUSINESS

No other business was brought forward.

4.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

Brent Belzberg Chair of the Board

Dr. Gary Newton Secretary of the Board

4