

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SINAI HEALTH SYSTEM (**"SHS"**) Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Harbourfront Room, Delta Hotel Toronto, 75 Lower Simcoe Street, Toronto 11:20 am – 11:30 am

Minutes

Present:

Mr. Brent Belzberg Dr. Erin Bearss Ms. Paula Blackstien-Hirsch Mr. Jonathan Bloomberg Mr. Lawrence Bloomberg Mr. Peter Cohen Mr. Harry Culham Mr. Harry Culham Mr. Lloyd S.D. Fogler, QC Mr. Ira Gluskin Ms. Maxine Granovsky Gluskin Ms. Debbie Kimel

Regrets:

Mr. David Cynamon Mr. Louis de Melo Mr. Irving Gerstein Mr. Bernard Ghert Mr. Jay Hennick Mr. Andrew Hoffman Mr. Tom Kornya Mr. Joseph Lebovic Mr. Richard Pilosof Mr. Philip Reichmann

Also Present:

Mr. John Aldis Ms. Susan Brown Ms. Melanie de Wit Ms. Carey Lucki

Guests:

Ms. Cathy Russell, PwC

*via teleconference

Recorder: Ms. Aja Dykes

- Ms. Jane Merkley Dr. Gary Newton Mr. Stephen Pustil Ms. Heather Reisman Mr. Joel Reitman Ms. Joanna Rotenberg* Mr. Robert Rubinoff Mr. Allan Rudolph Mr. Mark Saunders Mr. Edward Sonshine Mr. Kenneth Tanenbaum*
- Mr. Gerald Schwartz Mr. Howard Sokolowski Mr. Lawrence Tanenbaum Rt. Hon. John Turner Mr. Charles Winograd Mr. Mark Wiseman Dr. Ian Witterick Mr. Jim Woodgett Dr. Trevor Young
- Ms. Barbara McCully Ms. Karen Michell Mr. Sandip Mitra Dr. Maureen Shandling

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Brent Belzberg, Chair of the Board of Directors, called the meeting to order.

1.1 Quorum

Mr. Belzberg noted that a quorum was present and the meeting was duly constituted.

1.2 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest Arising from the Agenda

No Declarations of Conflicts of Interest were made.

1.3 Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated.

2.0 MATTERS REQUIRING DECISION

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law No. 3 of Sinai Health System, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following action be taken by the Directors of Corporation as recommended by the Governance Committee of the Board;

Be it resolved that the Directors of SHS hereby consent to, approve and adopt the following appointment:

2.1 Appointment of Officers – SHS

Be it resolved that, effective as of the date hereof, the following individuals, being the only persons nominated for such positions, be and they hereby are appointed officers of SHS for a term of one (1) year or until his or her successor is appointed subject to the provisions of the Corporation's By-Law No. 3:

- Mr. Brent Belzberg, Chair
- Mr. Gerald Schwartz, Vice Chair
- Mr. Lawrence Tanenbaum, Vice Chair
- Mr. Peter Cohen, Treasurer
- Dr. Gary Newton, President and Secretary

2.2 Appointment of Chairs and Co-Chairs of the Committees

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law No. 3 of Sinai Health System, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following actions be taken by the Directors of the Corporation;

Be it resolved that the Directors of SHS appoint the Chairs and/or Co-Chairs for the following Committees, with Committee and Sub-Committee membership to be finalized by the Committee Chairs and Chair of the Governance Committee.

Academic Leadership Committee (SHS)
 Chair: Brent Belzberg

- Audit and Risk Management Committee (SHS and BH)
 Co-Chairs: Bernard Ghert: Tom Kornya
- Governance Committee (SHS)
 Chair: Brent Belzberg
- Human Resources Committee (SHS)
 Chair: Brent Belzberg
- Patient Safety and Quality Committee (SHS)
 Chair: Paula Blackstien-Hirsch
 - Operational Effectiveness and Technology Sub-Committee (SHS) Chair: Joanna Rotenberg
- Research Committee (SHS)
 Chair: Lawrence Tanenbaum
- Resources Committee (SHS and BH) Co-Chairs: Peter Cohen; Mark Saunders
 - Buildings and Property Sub-Committee (SHS)
 Chair: Peter Cohen
 - Business Innovation & Development Sub-Committee (SHS)
 Co-Chairs: Stephen Pustil, Michael Hollend
 - Development Sub-Committee (SHS)
 Chair: Andrew Hoffman (leave), Kenneth Tanenbaum (interim)
 - Investment Sub-Committee (SHS)
 Co-Chairs: Charles Winograd, David Kaufman
- Strategy & External Relations Committee (SHS)
 Chair: Brent Belzberg

2.3 Appointment of Members of Professional Staff

Whereas, pursuant to Sinai Health System's Professional Staff By-law No. 2 (**"Bylaw No.** 2") it is required that the Directors appoint a Chair and Vice-Chair respectively of the Medical Advisory Committee (**"MAC**");

And whereas, pursuant to Sinai Health System's By-law Number 3 it is contemplated that the Directors may appoint two members of the Medical Staff to the MAC to ensure that there are representatives to adequately represent the SHS sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services;

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Sinai Health System appoints the following Medical Advisory Committee Chair and Vice-Chair:

- Chair: Dr. Jay Wunder, Surgeon-in-Chief
- Vice-Chair: Dr. Matthew Sermer, Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Sinai Health System appoints the following two members of the Medical Staff to the MAC to adequately represent the Sinai Health System sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services:

- Dr. Christine Soong
- Dr. Mark Lachmann

2.4 Approval of Directors of Bridgepoint Family Health Team

Whereas the Directors of SHS, as Class B Members of Bridgepoint Family Health Team, elect two persons annually to serve as Directors of Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

And whereas Dr. Mark Lachmann, Physician Lead, Bridgepoint Site of Sinai Health System, and Raymond Lam, Director, Financial Planning and Analysis, have agreed to have their names stand as Class B members of the Board of Directors of the Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of SHS approves the nominations as noted above.

3.0 OTHER BUSINESS

No other business was brought forward.

4.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:11 a.m.

Brent Belzberg Chair of the Board

Dr. Gary Newton Secretary of the Board