

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SINAI HEALTH SYSTEM ("SHS")

Wednesday, June 16, 2022 Via Zoom 11:18 am – 11:22 am

Minutes

Present:

Paula Blackstien-Hirsch Jonathan Bloomberg Lawrence Bloomberg Peter Cohen David Cynamon Lloyd S.D. Fogler, QC Dr. Shital Gandhi Irving Gerstein Bernard Ghert Ira Gluskin Maxine Granovsky Gluskin Jay Hennick Andrew Hoffman Debbie Kimel Tom Kornya Dr. Gary Newton

Richard Pilosof
Stephen Pustil
Philip Reichmann
Dani Reiss
Joel Reitman
Joanna Rotenberg
Robert Rubinoff
Mark Saunders
Dr. Mathew Sermer
Howard Sokolowski
Edward Sonshine
Kenneth Tanenbaum
Lawrence Tanenbaum
Charles Winograd
Dr. L. Trevor Young

Regrets:

Brent Belzberg Harry Culham Jane Merkley Heather Reisman Gerald Schwartz Mark Wiseman

Also Present:

Susan Brown Louis de Melo Dr. Stephen Lye Barbara McCully Dr. Howard Ovens Dee Perera Tracy Rotstein Dr. Maureen Shandling

Recorder: Aja Dykes



1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Peter Cohen, Chair of the Board of Directors, called the meeting to order.

1.1 Quorum

The Chair noted that a quorum was present and the meeting was duly constituted.

1.2 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest Arising from the Agenda

No Declarations of Conflicts of Interest were made.

1.3 Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated.

2.0 MATTERS REQUIRING DECISION

2.1 Appointment of Officers of Sinai Health System

Sinai Health System

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law Number 4 of Sinai Health System, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following action be taken by the Directors of the Corporation as recommended by the Governance Committee of the Board;

Be it resolved that the Directors of Sinai Health System hereby consent to, approve and adopt the following appointments:

Appointment of Officers

Be it resolved that, effective as of the date hereof, the following individuals, being the only persons nominated for such positions, be and they hereby are appointed officers of SHS for a term lasting until the next annual general meeting of the Corporation or until their successor is appointed, subject to the provisions of the Corporation's By-Law No. 4:

- Peter Cohen, Chair
- Jay Hennick, Vice Chair
- · Gerald Schwartz, Vice Chair
- Lawrence Tanenbaum, Vice Chair
- Joanna Rotenberg, Treasurer
- Dr. Gary Newton, Secretary

2.2 Appointment of Chairs and Members of the Committees

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law No. 4 of Sinai Health System and By-Law No.1 of Bridgepoint Health, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporations that the following actions be taken by the Directors of the respective Corporations;

Be it resolved that the Directors of Sinai Health System and Bridgepoint Health appoint the Board Committee Chairs and Members, as presented.



2022/23 Board Committee Chairs

Resources, Audit and Risk Committee (Sinai Health System and Bridgepoint Health)
 Co-Chairs: Joanna Rotenberg and Mark Wiseman

Buildings and Property Sub-Committee (Sinai Health System)
 Chair: Andrew Hoffman

• **Development Sub-Committee** (Sinai Health System) Co-Chairs: Andrew Hoffman and Kenneth Tanenbaum

Investment Sub-Committee (Sinai Health System and Sinai Health Foundation)
 Co-Chairs: David Kaufman and Charles Winograd

• Long-Term Care Steering Sub-Committee (Sinai Health System)
Chair: Andrew Hoffman

• Governance Committee (Sinai Health System)

Chair: Peter Cohen

• Human Resources Committee (Sinai Health System)

Chair: Peter Cohen

• Patient Safety and Quality Committee (Sinai Health System)

Chair: Tom Kornya

• Research Committee (Sinai Health System)

Chair: Lawrence Tanenbaum

2022/23 Board Committee Membership

Committee/Sub-committee Name	Membership Updates
Resources, Audit and Risk Committee*	New Co-Chair: Mark Wiseman
	 Co-Chair Term ended: Mark Saunders
Buildings and Property Sub-committee	No changes
Development Sub-committee	No changes
Investment Sub-committee	No changes
Long-Term Care Steering Sub-	Chair: Andrew Hoffman
committee	 Members: Paula Blackstien-Hirsch, Peter
	Cohen, Philip Reichmann, Ken Tanenbaum
Governance Committee*	No changes
Human Resources Committee	No changes
Patient Safety and Quality Committee*	New member: Andrew Hoffman
	 Co-Chair Term ended: Paula Blackstien-
	Hirsch
Research Committee*	No changes

2.3 Appointment of Members of Professional Staff

Whereas, pursuant to Sinai Health System's Professional Staff By-law Number 2 ("**Bylaw No. 2**") it is required that the Directors appoint a Chair and Vice-Chair respectively of the Medical Advisory Committee ("**MAC**");



And whereas, pursuant to Sinai Health System's Administrative By-law Number 4 it is contemplated that the Directors may appoint two members of the Medical Staff to the MAC to ensure that there are representatives to adequately represent the SHS sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services;

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Sinai Health System appoints the following Medical Advisory Committee Chair and Vice-Chair:

- Chair: Dr. Mathew Sermer, Obstetrics & Gynaecology
- Vice-Chair: Dr. Lesley Wiesenfeld, Psychiatry

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Sinai Health System appoints the following two members of the Medical Staff to the MAC to adequately represent the Sinai Health System sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services:

- Dr. Christine Soong
- Dr. Mark Lachmann

2.4 Approval of Directors of Bridgepoint Family Health Team

Whereas the Directors of Sinai Health System and Bridgepoint Health, as Class B Members of Bridgepoint Family Health Team, elect two persons annually to serve as Directors of Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

And whereas Dr. Mark Lachmann, Physician Lead, Bridgepoint Site of Sinai Health System, and John O'Connell, Deputy Chief Financial Officer for Sinai Health, have agreed to have their names stand as Class B members of the Board of Directors of the Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

Be it resolved that the Boards of Directors of Sinai Health System and Bridgepoint Health approve the nominations as noted above.

3.0 GOVERNANCE CONVERSATION

3.1 Evaluations for the 2021/22 Governance Year

Evaluations for the 2021/22 governance year will be circulated for electronic completion following the June 16, 2022 Board meeting.

3.2 Annual Declaration and Consent

The Annual Declaration and Consent that is required by all Board and Committee members will be circulated for electronic signature after the June 16, 2022 Board meeting.

4.0 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next scheduled meeting of the Board of Directors is Thursday, October 13, 2022 from 3:30 pm to 6:00 pm.

5.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:22 am.



Peter F. Cohen Chair of the Board Dr. Gary Newton Secretary of the Board